Home > Because Nobody Asked > Because Nobody Asked: My 2013 Resolutions

Because Nobody Asked: My 2013 Resolutions

With 2012 almost in the rear view mirror, it’s time to look ahead to 2013 and put some resolutions out there. I’m going to try to stick to them, to the best of my ability.

Pitch the idea of Pinball Alley for publishing: With High Speed now in my NES collection, and with the number of pinball games and platforms that I own, I think that I have a chance to pitch the idea of a running series about pinball video games. Ideally, I’d like to do this at Retroware TV. I’m not sure how often I want to do this– monthly or maybe twice a month– but given my interest and experience in this genre, I think that I could offer something decent. If it doesn’t get picked up, I’d probably do it here… but I’d like to see it get even more traffic.

Leave the anger behind: I think that it’s been made abundantly clear that I’m pretty frustrated by modern console gaming. The days of constant negativity have frustrated a lot of people who read my thoughts, and I understand where they’re coming from. My point has been made, so it’s time to stop griping and instead focus on what makes me happy or excited. This means that I’ll be focusing a lot more on ¬†older games and systems in social media, and sharing more positive thoughts about modern console gaming when I have them. I will probably stumble here a few times and regress, but it’s a process. It’s possible to write about good things, and the retro scene is where I’m at my happiest. It’s time to turn over that new leaf and evolve, leaving a lot of the anger behind.

Write at least once a week: With my return to college, I’ve started to develop more of a living routine– homework, gaming time, etc. I think that I can now incorporate at least weekly articles into my routine. I’ve leaned more towards social media (Twitter especially) over the last couple of years, but I think that more regular writing fits my shift to talking more about older games more effectively. I have lots of ideas, and certainly lots of games that I can cover or talk about, but I need to commit to making it happen. I think I’m finally at that point where I can do this, rather than just talking about it.

Continue to build my collection: This is going to be the most difficult resolution to achieve, because I’m not working, but I want to keep building my collection as best as I can. Saving money when I can– loose change, can and bottle returns, etc– will hopefully let me add a few games here and there in 2013. I’m still holding out hope for adding systems, like the Nintendo 64, but any additions will be welcome ones. Maybe I’ll hit tag sales or local thrift shops like Goodwill with a few dollars and hit some gold. Collecting is as much about the chase and finding the games as it is about purchasing them, adding them to your collection, and playing them. There’s also a close-knit and friendly retro collecting community out there that’s very supportive.

Finish more games that I play: Having GADD (Gaming Attention Deficit Disorder), I find that I rarely finish games that I start playing. I get distracted, start something new, and forget about what I was playing to start with. I’m going to track the games that I beat in 2013 and see how many that I can complete. It seems like a small thing, but I think it’s a step towards re-establishing a bit of focus for me and it might extend to other things in my life outside of gaming. We will see.

There’s nothing over the top here in these resolutions, so it should be possible to make all of them happen… or to at least make strides in that direction. I’ll take a look at the end of each quarter of 2013 (March, June, September, December) and chart my progress in each area.

Here’s hoping that 2013 is a great year… for me, for you, and for everybody.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 31, 2012 at 2:08 AM

Chime in!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,442 other followers

